Home / #BleuBeats  / Nobody’s Smiling Review

Nobody’s Smiling Review


Common is back with his 10th Studio Album entitled “Nobody’s Smiling” on Def Jam Recordings / ARTium Records. After a short hiatus following the release of his prior album “The Dreamer/The Believer” to pursue Movies, Common returns to the studio and began work on his tenth album and later revealed that the production, much like his previous effort, would be handled entirely by his longtime collaborator and record producer No I.D.. In 2014, Common signed a recording contract with No I.D.’s ARTium Records, through Def Jam Recordings, for the distribution of the album. The title and concept of the album was inspired by the violence and high crime rate in Common’s hometown of Chicago, Illinois. The album features guest appearances from Lil Herb, Big Sean, Jhené Aiko, Snoh Aalegra, Dreezy, Elijah Blake, Vince Staples and Cocaine 80s. The album was supported by three singles, “Kingdom” (featuring Vince Staples), “Speak My Piece” and “Diamonds” (featuring Big Sean). It’s definitely worth the listen.

Review overview