Home / Music  / Soundtrack for a Freedom Fighter

Soundtrack for a Freedom Fighter

The humble passing of Nelson Mandela on December 5th 2013 silenced the world in reverent awe.  Now, DJ Idris Elba has filled the void with music.  While filming Mandela: Long Walk To Freedom in 2013, Elba was inspired to produce an album as a tribute to the freedom fighter himself using South African music as a catalyst.
South Africa has numerous different tribes and each one has a musical expression, and each one has a very unique, different sound style. -Idris Elba

Creative contributors on the album include Mumford & Sons, James Blake, George The Poet, Maverick Sabre, Cody ChestnuTT, and Mr. HudsonOn November 24th, mi Mandela was released with the following tracks:

  1. Aero Mathata
  2. So Many People feat. Shaun Escoffery
  3. You Give Me Love feat. Maverick Sabre
  4. Thank You For Freedom
  5. One feat. George The Poet
  6. mi Mandela
  7. Tree feat. Audra Mae & Cody ChesnuTT
  8. Home feat. Maverick Sabre
  9. Nothembi Jam
  10. Hold On feat. Thabo & George The Poet
  11. Soldiers Don’t Back Down

Indulge in the sounds of freedom and celebration by visiting DJ Idris Elba’s Soundcloud or by purchasing the full album on iTunes.



Taylor earned Bachelor of Arts from Wagner College in Spanish and Anthropology. Follow her Instagram @taylorstabler

Review overview